Final Fantasy FXN Network Content

Final Fantasy XV Battle System


Final Fantasy XV’s battle system will draw the nostalgic feeling from old Final Fantasy titles and blend it with a whole new concept. The fast action and the pace will be similar to the battles of Kingdom Hearts but united with new mechanics. The actions the characters perform after selecting commands for them is close to that of Kingdom Hearts.

Third Person Shooter

Characters will do actions like double jumping and so forth and have the ability to move around on the map and during encounters. You’ll also be fighting vertically by warping at building walls and attacking the enemy. The game will also have of what Nomura refers to as “TPS”, or Third Person Shooter. Your view of the action will change based on the weapon that you’re using in order to give the best control.



Noctis, Gladiolus and Prompto

You can have up to three members in your party. The party members will be chosen for you as part of the story because of tutorial considerations. As you advance further into the game, you will be able to select your members. You will also be able to switch between three party members during battle if you want to. Noctis is always part of your party and if he dies, the game is over.

As of right now, Noctis, Gladiolus, Prompto, Ignis and Cor are the only confirmed playable characters.

Multi-Cheracter Attacks


Noctis Stabbing Soldier in the Face

Final Fantasy XV will allow players to time their characters to chain together multi-characters attacks. Examples of this system involve using magic to send the enemy flying back and then switching quickly to another character to come in for an attack.

Situational Moves


Gladiolus Protecting Noctis

Situational moves are things like Gladiolus stepping in to protect Noctis or Prompto warping in to shoot a guy in his stead.



Noctis Warping

Noctis can warp around while taking out enemies. Nomura explained that players won’t be able to warp freely to every spot on the battle field. However, you will be able to warp to the location where you've placed your sword. You can also throw your sword into the distance, and then warp to it. This is how you’ll be able to fight vertically on walls.

Monster Climbing


Noctis climbing onto Behemoth’s horn

Players will be able to climb onto larger enemies in battle, which will allow for tactical riding and attacks on targeted areas of the body.

Eye Change


Noctis Red Eyes

When asked about changing eye and hair color Nomura stated that his eyes and hair change with his emotions as well as different actions in battle.



Each character has their own specialties and attack differently depending on the weapon.

Noctis will be able to have access to a lot of weapons like swords, axes, lances and guns. Some of the different types of guns for example are handguns, machine guns, shot guns, rifles, bazookas and much more. The Final Fantasy XV team is placing a focus on making the motions used on the variety of weapons look different from each other.

Noctis Holding a Large Sword

Noctis Selecting Swords

Noctis is seen selecting from a number of different weapons to defeat the hundreds of enemy soldiers that stand before him. The various weapons in the game will have different methods of attack, and some will even be usable as shields to go along with Noctis’ crystal power. Weapons will have some sort of customization element. Of course, the main character won't have his full arsenal available to him at the outset of the game.

Two or more weapons can be used by Noctis by going into the menu screen and equipping him with multiple weapons. These will automatically switch out as you fight and give you various combos depending on the weapons you have set up for him.

The other party members will be able to use only certain weapons.



Fire Magic

All characters can use magic, but Noctis must be there as part of the story setting. This power of "light" that Noctis and Stella talk about is different from the power of magic Nomura states.



Leviathan Battle

Summon beasts are in the game and to obtain them they have to be defeated like in Final Fantasy XIII. In the Leviathan battle, the monster will create typhoons during battle and the player will have to jump through destroyed buildings one by one in order to fight. Summons will have a ranking system too. Leviathan is a top-ranked summon due to his large size

Other boss battles will feature grand situations as well.



Magitek Armor

You'll be able to ride Magitek Armor (mechs) and get on other vehicles to fire its weapons as well.

Enemy Job Classes


Female Dragon Knight

Final Fantasy XV will have a job system but not for the characters that the player will control. Enemies will come in classes such as dragon knights and summoners. The Dragon Knight character seen in the 1st PD trailer is an enemy who is part of a special group of people within the enemy army and uses unconventional armor that differs from the army's standard issue.

Last Modified: June 30, 2013
Powered By PenguinCMS 0.3.1
down up